TYAN Membership Information

All TWAS Young Affiliates are members of TYAN. TYAN will establish a few dynamic working groups in consideration of the scientific expertise of the TWAS Young Affiliates and the social needs of developing countries. All TWAS Young Affiliates will be invited to join these dynamic working groups.


  1. Be aged 40 or less on 1 January of the year in which you are selected
  2. Have been living and working in a developing country for at least the preceding three years.
  3. Have an excellent track record of at least 10 international publications in peer-reviewed journals.

Being selected a TWAS Young Affiliate does not automatically lead to full membership of TWAS. Specifically, TWAS Young Affiliates


  1. Will be invited to attend all TWAS General Meetings and General Conferences free of charge
  2. Entitled to attend TWAS General Meetings as observers, i.e. they will be permitted to participate in the discussions, but will not have any voting rights
  3. Will be invited to attend regional meetings of TWAS Fellows organized by the Regional Offices
  4. Will be invited to participate in the activities of TWAS national chapters in their home countries (if such a chapter is active)
  5. Will receive copies of TWAS publications such as the TWAS Newsletter, Year Book, and Annual Report
  6. Will have their biodata published in an annual Young Affiliate registry, to be made available at each TWAS General Meeting
  7. Eligible for TWAS Prizes (unlike TWAS members)
  8. Encouraged to provide feedback to TWAS on how the Academy can respond to the needs of young scientists in developing countries
  9. Encouraged to provide information about TWAS programmes to their students and colleagues
  10. Encouraged to seek out and nominate excellent scientists from developing countries, especially science and technology
  11. After 5 years TWAS young affiliates will be TWAS young affiliates alumni for another 5years (TYAN)


  1. Arab Region
  2. Latin America Region
  3. Sub-Saharan Africa Region
  4. East-South Asia Region
  5. Central-South Asia Region